Agia Triada


Agia Triada (Saint Trinity) is an Archeological site in southern central Crete, near Festos. Here some unique pieces of Minoan art and important ruins of the prehistoric era were found. Its name comes from a village that is now deserted.

It is situated at the western side of a group of hills, the most eastern of which is that of Festos. It was inhabited sparsely during the third millennium B.C.

During the middle minoan period Agia Triada had not been developed. By the end of that era and at the beginning of the late minoan period the town became a very important place.

It was destroyed around 1450 B.C.

Later it was rebuilt and life went on until the geometrical period. At the end of this period the site became deserted and remained so until the second century B.C. The discovery of a Roman rural house provides evidence of continual occupation of the site throughout the ages.

There are two little churches of Saint Trinity and Saint George which were built when the Venetians occupied Crete.

The villa of Saint Trinity has been deemed to be royal due to the elegance of the building itself and the great variety and richness of the artifacts found on the site.